Sit back and let ‘er go!

It’s been rough going for me lately. In addition to having had to adjust to the departure of my favorite central banker, Mark Carney, I now have to deal with the shutdown of the US government and Miley Cyrus and Juicy J’s potential offspring.

Miley Cyrus and rapper Juicy J are not expecting a baby together.  The singer took to Twitter to poke fun at latest reports.

It’s a wonder I manage to stay so calm amid all this controversy swirling around me. I have adopted a laissez-faire attitude that matches the important actors whose colossal blunders affect all of our lives. I live by the words of new Governor of the Bank of Canada Stephen Poloz, who used this phrase to describe his approach to leadership: “Sit back and let ‘er go.”

Patrick Doyle/Bloomberg

Really? That’s what the man in charge of a large chunk of our economy has to say? If he’s not worried, then why should I be? Is that what Miley Cyrus is going to say if the pregnancy test comes back positive?

And is that what US policymakers are saying now that they’ve let the government shut down? Ah, it’s fine, just sit back and let ‘er go guys, this battle’s just not worth fighting. A weeklong shutdown will slow US growth by 0.3%, but it’s not a problem. Ted Cruz is doing his part by pledging his salary to charity…because negotiating with Democrats doesn’t count as doing his part. And it’s totally considered charity to give up a salary you’ve earned in exchange for not doing the job you were hired to do. Awesome everyone!

I apologize if I sound bitter. I think I’m just jealous of Miley Cyrus.

Leave a Reply

